50 new COVID-19 cases reported by DHSS Tuesday

(Gray tv)
Published: Sep. 22, 2020 at 1:58 PM AKDT
Email this link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

ANCHORAGE, Alaska (KTUU) - The Department of Health and Social Services is reporting 50 new cases of COVID-19 in Alaska with 46 of those cases in residents. The state remains at a high alert level due to the high average daily case rate over the last two weeks.

Four new cases were reported in nonresidents and all four were identified in Anchorage, the DHSS coronavirus dashboard states. One of the nonresidents was in Anchorage for tourism. The other three cases are under investigation.

The new COVID-19 cases bring the state total to 7,886 cases with 6,950 of those in residents. There are currently 5,173 active cases of the virus in the state, DHSS data shows.

There were no new deaths reported Tuesday, but since COVID-19 cases were reported in Alaska, 45 people with the virus have died. One new hospitalization was reported Tuesday.

At least 272 people have been hospitalized with the virus since the pandemic began, DHSS data shows. An additional 39 people are currently hospitalized with the virus and four people are hospitalized and suspected of having COVID-19. Statewide, 14 people with or suspected of having COVID-19 are on a ventilator. DHSS hospital data from Tuesday morning shows there are still 226 ventilators available in the state, 68 intensive care unit beds available and 533 inpatient beds available.

The new cases were split with 23 men and 23 women reported to have the virus Tuesday. Of those, three are children under the age of 10, two are between 10 and 19, 11 are in their 20s, 12 are in their 30s, eight are in their 40s, seven are in their 50s, two are in their 60s and one is 80 or older.

Since the pandemic began, 431,191 COVID-19 tests have been conducted although that number does not reflect a new person for each test. The daily average positive percentage rate for a COVID-19 test over the last week is 2.28%.

Resident cases were reported in these communities:

  • Municipality of Anchorage: 32
  • Kodiak: One
  • Fairbanks: Three
  • Matanuska-Susitna Borough: Four
  • Northwest Arctic Borough: Five
  • Aleutians West Census Area: One

Editor’s Note: This report has been updated with new information.

Copyright 2020 KTUU. All rights reserved.

Latest News

Latest News