462 new COVID-19 cases reported in Alaska Friday

Published: Nov. 20, 2020 at 11:05 AM AKST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

ANCHORAGE, Alaska (KTUU) - The Department of Health and Social Services is reporting 462 new COVID-19 cases in residents and nonresidents. No new deaths were reported on Friday leaving the state total of deaths at 100 residents and one nonresident.

Since COVID-19 cases were first reported in the state, there have been a total of 26,544 COVID-19 cases in residents and nonresidents.

All regions of Alaska remain at a high alert level with a statewide average daily case rate of 75.3 COVID-19 cases per 100,000 people in the last two weeks. Any community with over 10 COVID-19 cases per 100,000 people is classified as high alert. Currently, the Yukon-Kuskokwim Delta has the highest rate of transmission in the state with 148.5 cases per 100,000 people, the Municipality of Anchorage has the second highest with 108.01 cases per 100,000 and the Kenai Peninsula Borough is third with 91.05 cases per 100,000.

DHSS says at least 606 residents and nonresidents have been hospitalized with COVID-19. An additional 118 people are currently hospitalized with COVID-19 and another 14 are hospitalized and suspected of having the virus. Fifteen of these patients are on a ventilator.

The DHSS indicators for hospital capacity are in the green with 431 adult inpatient beds available and 32 adult intensive care unit beds available in the state. The Anchorage Health Department COVID-19 dashboard puts hospital capacity indicators in the red with only 77 of 515 adult inpatient beds and 16 ICU beds available in the municipality.

DHSS says 904,712 COVID-19 tests have been conducted in the state, although that number does not reflect a unique number of individuals for each test.

The majority of cases were reported in the Municipality of Anchorage with 227 in Anchorage, 10 in Chugiak, 12 in Eagle River and two in Girdwood.

Three of the new cases were reported in nonresidents. Their location is unknown.

Resident cases were reported in these communities:

  • Municipality of Anchorage: 251
  • Kenai Peninsula Borough: 37
  • Kodiak Island Borough: 10
  • Valdez-Cordova Census Area: Five
  • Fairbanks North Star Borough: 33
  • Southeast Fairbanks Census Area: 15
  • Yukon-Koyukuk Census Area: Five
  • Matanuska-Susitna Borough: 44
  • Nome Census Area: Three
  • North Slope Borough: Six
  • Northwest Arctic Borough: Nine
  • City and Borough of Juneau: Two
  • Sitka City and Borough: Three
  • Bethel Census Area: 26
  • Dillingham: Five
  • Bristol Bay plus Lake and Peninsula: One
  • Kusilvak Census Area: 4

Editor’s Note: This story has been updated with additional data from DHSS.

Copyright 2020 KTUU. All rights reserved.