Watch: Alaska’s electors cast their votes in Juneau

Election Results graphic
Election Results graphic(MGN)
Published: Dec. 14, 2020 at 11:02 AM AKST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

ANCHORAGE, Alaska (KTUU) - Sens. Lisa Murkowski and Dan Sullivan reacted on Monday evening to the Electoral College’s selection of former Vice President Joe Biden as president-elect.

“In accordance with the Constitution and federal law, the Electoral College met today and the electors cast their ballots, determining that former Vice President Joe Biden is now the president-elect,” Sullivan said in a prepared statement. “This is not the result that I, and the majority of Alaska voters who supported President Trump, had hoped for. But ultimately as a U.S. Senator, my oath and fidelity are to the Constitution and the laws of our nation, which include the orderly transfer of power—one of the most sacred elements of our great constitutional republic—and the Electoral College process that took place today.”

Alaska’s senior senator took a more encouraging approach, congratulating the Biden Administration and asking Alaskans to unite in pursuit of a better future.

“I thank President Trump, Vice President Pence, and all who served within their administration for the contributions they made to our state, and our nation, during their time in office,” Murkowski said in her prepared statement. “On behalf of Alaska, I am grateful for their diligent work on our behalf.

“As the Biden administration begins their time in office, we are grappling with the ongoing pandemic, working to revitalize our economy, striving to address social justice issues, and tackling a number of challenging policy initiatives,” she continued. “Now, more than ever, is the time for us to come together as a nation—to put differences aside and move forward for the benefit of the American people.”

Original Story: On Monday, the state’s electors came together to cast their electoral votes for the 2020 presidential election.

The electors cast the state’s three electoral votes for President Donald Trump and Vice President Mike Pence.

You can watch the ceremony on KTOO’s Gavel Alaska website or in the video below.

According to the Alaska Division of Elections website, each state gets a number of electors equal to its U.S. Congressional representation. Based on this, Alaska has three electors.

Moving forward, the state’s electoral vote will now be transmitted to the president of the Senate, who reads them before both houses of Congress on Jan. 6.

According to the DOE’s website, each political party is given the chance to select three electors. The three electors coincide with the three electoral votes.

In the 2020 presidential election, President Donald Trump won the popular vote in Alaska.

According to the DOE, “When voters go to the polls on Election Day, they are really voting for electors to serve in the Electoral College. The vote marked for the President and Vice-President candidate on the ballot is considered and counted as a vote for the electors of the party.”

This means that since he is a Republican, the Republican Party electors cast their vote for Trump. The three electors for the Alaska Republican Party were John Binkley, Judy Eledge and Randy Ruedrich.

Currently, there are 538 electors in the nation, and 270 votes are required to be elected.

On Nov. 7, the presidential race was called for former Vice President Joe Biden, now president-elect, and Sen. Kamala Harris, now vice president-elect.

According to the Associated Press, “Presidential electors coast to coast were casting the votes Monday that will affirm Joe Biden as the nation’s next president, a formality that took on added importance this year because of President Donald Trump’s refusal to concede he lost his race for reelection.”

Biden is expected to address the nation around 3:30 p.m. Monday after the electors have voted.

Copyright 2020 KTUU. All rights reserved.