3 deaths, 232 new COVID-19 cases reported in Alaska Monday

Published: Jan. 4, 2021 at 11:31 AM AKST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

ANCHORAGE, Alaska (KTUU) - The Department of Health and Social Services reports three new deaths and 232 new COVID-19 cases in the state Monday.

Since the pandemic started there have been a total of 218 COVID-19 deaths in 217 residents and one nonresident. In a daily case update, DHSS said all three of the deaths reported Monday occurred over the past several months and are reported now after death certificate review.

The deaths were reported in a female Soldotna resident 80 or older, a male Yukon-Kuskokwim Census Area resident 80 or older and a female Yukon-Kuskokwim Census Area resident 80 or older.

In the daily case summary, DHSS said Monday was the first day that the department would be reporting “probable deaths based on confirmed COVID-19 clinical and epidemiological criteria.” DHSS said the three deaths reported Monday are probable deaths.

Of the new cases reported Monday, five COVID-19 cases were reported in nonresidents with two in Anchorage and three in unknown locations.

DHSS says the total number of Alaska resident cases is now 46,812 and the total number of nonresident cases to 1,551. There has been a total of 48,363 cases in the state since the pandemic first began.

There have been 1,297,498 tests conducted throughout the state, although that number does not reflect a count of unique individuals tested.

There have been at least 1,033 COVID-19-related hospitalizations in the state with an additional 83 patients currently hospitalized with the virus. Another 14 patients are hospitalized and are suspected of having the virus. Nine patients are on a ventilator in the state.

The DHSS dashboard for hospital capacity lists indicators for adult inpatient beds and adult intensive care unit beds in the green with 539 inpatient and 46 ICU beds available in the state.

Resident cases were reported in these communities:

  • Municipality of Anchorage: 95
  • Kenai Peninsula Borough: 15
  • Kodiak Island Borough: 2
  • Valdez-Cordova Census Area: 1
  • Fairbanks North Star Borough: 18
  • Yukon-Koyukuk Cenus Area: 4
  • Matanuska-Susitna Borough: 45
  • Nome Census Area: 2
  • North Slope Borough: 2
  • Haines Borough: 1
  • Petersburg Borough: 1
  • Bethel Census Area: 27
  • Kusilvak Census Area: 14

Editor’s Note: This report had been updated with additional information about the three COVID-19 deaths.

Copyright 2021 KTUU. All rights reserved.