ASAA baseball divisions shaken up

Published: Jan. 3, 2021 at 11:03 PM AKST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

ANCHORAGE, Alaska (KTUU) - Division one will now be classified as schools that have an enrollment of 851 plus students. Division two is now defined as schools with an enrollment of less than 850. However schools that were apart of the old division one were given the option to stay in D1 for the 2021 season, like Wasilla High School for instance.

Ken Ottinger Wasilla H.S. head baseball coach said “I always want to be in the big schools, I want the best competition for my kids possible, we are a small school technically by standards but we want to compete with the big schools like South and West and Dimond.”

Cook Inlet D1 will consist of Bartlett, Chugiak, Dimond, Eagle River, Service, East, South and West.

Mid-Alaska D1 is West Valley, Colony, Wasilla and Lathrop.

Southeast D1 is Juneau, Thunder Mountain, Sitka and Ketchikan.

Mid-Alaska D2 is North Pole, Hutchinson, Monroe, Delta and Ben Eielson.

Southcentral D2 is Homer, Houston, Kenai Central, Grace Christian, Palmer, Soldotna, and Kodiak.

Southeast D2 is Petersburg.

ASAA’s director Billy Strickland says that the change is good for the growth of baseball in our state, Strickland said “We think splitting baseball might encourage more small schools to get involved because you are not going to be asked to compete with schools that may be four or five times your size now. So we are hoping we are going to see some growth in baseball in the Southeast and maybe some other communities that haven’t played it in the past that might start a new activity.”

As far as the upcoming season coaches around the state are hopeful that we will be playing a full slate, even if it has to be modified slightly. After all what better game to play in the age of social distancing where the the bases are separated by 90 feet.

Copyright 2021 KTUU. All rights reserved.