206 new COVID-19 cases reported in Alaska Tuesday

Updated: Jan. 5, 2021 at 12:16 PM AKST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

ANCHORAGE, Alaska (KTUU) - The Department of Health and Social Services is reporting 206 new COVID-19 cases in residents and nonresidents on Tuesday. No new deaths were reported on Tuesday, leaving the total count of COVID-19 deaths at 217 residents and one nonresident.

In a daily case summary, DHSS said most regions of Alaska are at a high-risk level with more than 10 COVID-19 cases per 100,000 people in the last two weeks. Southern and Northern Other Southeast Regions are the only two regions at an intermediate-risk level.

Only three of the new cases were reported in nonresidents but their location is under investigation. The new cases bring the state total of cases in residents and nonresidents to 48,560.

Since the pandemic began, at least 1,056 residents and nonresidents have been hospitalized with COVID-19. An additional 83 people are currently hospitalized with COVID-19 and another 10 are hospitalized and suspected of having COVID-19. Six of these patients are on a ventilator in the state.

The DHSS dashboard for hospital capacity lists indicators for hospital capacity in the green with 534 inpatient beds and 45 intensive care unit beds in Alaska.

Since COVID-19 testing started in Alaska a total of 1,302,859 COVID-19 tests have been conducted, although that number does not reflect the unique number of individuals who have been tested for the virus.

The state COVID-19 vaccine dashboard states 18,266 doses of the first round of COVID-19 vaccinations have been given within the state.

Resident cases were reported in these communities:

  • Municipality of Anchorage: 63
  • Kenai Peninsula Borough: 10
  • Kodiak Island Borough: 3
  • Fairbanks North Star Borough: 42
  • Southeast Fairbanks Census Area: 1
  • Matanuska-Susitna Borough: 35
  • North Slope Borough: 6
  • Northwest Arctic Borough: 3
  • City and Borough of Juneau: 1
  • Ketchikan Gateway Borough: 3
  • Sitka City and Borough: 2
  • Petersburg Borough: 1
  • Yakutat plus Hoonah-Angoon: 1
  • Aleutians West Census Area: 2
  • Bethel Census Area: 27
  • Kusilvak Census Area: 3

Editor’s Note: This report has been updated with more information from the state.

Copyright 2021 KTUU. All rights reserved.