Judicial council forwards Alaska Supreme Court nominees to governor

 File Photo of the Alaska Supreme Court (KTVF)
File Photo of the Alaska Supreme Court (KTVF) (KTVF)
Updated: May. 26, 2021 at 3:41 PM AKDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

ANCHORAGE, Alaska (KTUU) - The Alaska Judicial Council has selected three nominees to fill a vacant seat on the Alaska Supreme Court and has forwarded them to Gov. Mike Dunleavy for appointment.

Three Superior Court judges have been placed on the shortlist to be considered for the vacancy left by outgoing Alaska Supreme Court Chief Justice Joel Bolger, who announced his impending retirement last year. They are Danya “Dani” Crosby, Jennifer Stuart Henderson and Yvonne Lamoureux. All three are Superior Court judges in Anchorage, according to a Wednesday press release from the council.

The judicial council is required to interview and nominate applicants to fill judicial vacancies, and tasked with forwarding their nominations to the governor. Dunleavy now has 45 days to appoint a finalist to fill the Alaska Supreme Court vacancy, according to the release.

Crosby has lived in Alaska for 35 years. She has practiced law for 25 years and graduated from Gonzaga University School of Law in 1996.

Henderson has practiced law for 18 years and lived in Alaska for that same amount of time. She graduated from Yale Law School in 2001.

Lamoureux graduated from University of Virginia School of Law in 2003. She has practiced law for 18 years and has lived in Alaska for 17.

The council is a seven-member body made up of three attorneys, three people who are not attorneys and the Alaska Supreme Court Chief Justice. Justice Daniel Winfree of Fairbanks was recently selected to become the high court’s chief justice when Bolger retires.

Copyright 2021 KTUU. All rights reserved.