Anchorage Athena Society inducts 13 women

Alaska Athena Society inducts 13 women
Published: Mar. 21, 2022 at 7:09 PM AKDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

ANCHORAGE, Alaska (KTUU) - The Anchorage Chamber of Commerce awarded 13 special women with honors on Monday for their positive impact on the community.

The chamber held the annual Athena Society luncheon at the Dena’ina Center in downtown Anchorage, inducting the women into the society.

Inductees are selected based on the recognition of their outstanding leadership and excellence in their business or profession and their community service outside of job requirements.

One of the inductees, Alaska Chief Medical Officer Dr. Anne Zink, received a standing ovation as she approached the podium to accept her award.

This year’s highest honor, the leadership award, went to Bonnie Jack who serves as the volunteer administrator for the Anchorage Athena Society.

“Anchorage Athena is a model organization for the 21st century,” Jack said in her acceptance speech. “But shouldn’t there be more — not just celebrating past accomplishments but looking to the future as to how we can make our community, our state, and our nation better.”

Also recognized were the 2020 inductees, who, because of the pandemic, did not have a ceremony that year.

Included in the class of 2022 are:

  • Anne Zink, MD, Chief Medical Officer for the State of Alaska, Dept. Of Health & Social Services
  • April Kyle, President/CEO of Southcentral Foundation
  • Carol Fraser, Vice President of Aspen Hotels of Alaska
  • Celeste Hodge Growden, President/CEO of the Alaska Black Caucus
  • Gretchen Cuddy, Co-Owner and Operator of Susitna Flats, LLC
  • Joelle Hall, President of the AFL-CIO
  • Kathy Hurlburt, MD, Owner of Dr. Kathy Hurlburt MD Internal Medicine Practice
  • Michael Fredericks, President of SALT
  • Moira K. Smith, Vice President and General Counsel of Enstar Natural Gas
  • Sonya Kelliher-Combs, Self-Employed Artist
  • Tabetha Toloff, Chief Administrative Officer of Cook Inlet Tribal Council
  • Shauna Hegna, President of Koniag
  • Crystal Enkvist, Executive Director of Alaska Power Association

Copyright 2022 KTUU. All rights reserved.