Alaska Republican Party cancels 2020 Presidential Preference Poll

Published: Sep. 21, 2019 at 2:06 PM AKDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

The Alaska Republican Party announced Saturday that it will not hold a Presidential Preference Poll in 2020, declaring support instead for the re-election of President Trump.

In a brief written statement, ARP said its State Central Committee determined Saturday that "conducting a PPP would serve no useful purpose when we have an incumbent Republican president, such as President Trump, running for the Republican nomination for President."

Full statement from the Alaska Republican Party, Saturday, Sept. 21

Meanwhile, the Alaska Democratic Party plans to hold a Party-Run Primary on April 4, 2020 to nominate a Democratic candidate and select delegates to attend the 2020 Democratic National Convention in Milwaukee.

As of Saturday, 19 candidates remain in the field vying for the Democratic nomination. Former Vice President Joe Biden currently leads the field

, with Sen. Elizabeth Warren (D-MA) and Sen. Bernie Sanders (I-VT) trailing.

In the 2016 Alaska GOP Presidential Preference Poll, 36.4 percent voted for Texas Sen. Ted Cruz, 33.5 percent for then-candidate Trump, and 15.1 percent for Florida Sen. Marco Rubio.

The Alaska Republican Party sent 28 delegates to the Republican National Convention in Cleveland, OH.

A disagreement ensued after then-chairman of the ARP, Tuckerman Babcock, motioned for 12 of Alaska's delegates to be awarded to Cruz, 11 to Trump, and five to Rubio. Instead,

, who easily clinched the nomination.

Copyright 2019 KTUU. All rights reserved.