Iditarod Day 11: Aliy Zirkle crosses finish line in Nome

 Aliy Zirkle crosses the Iditarod finish line in Nome, March 13, 2019 (KTUU)
Aliy Zirkle crosses the Iditarod finish line in Nome, March 13, 2019 (KTUU) (KTUU)
Published: Mar. 13, 2019 at 12:08 AM AKDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn
Update: 9:55 p.m.:

Iditarod veterans Matt Hall and Paige Drobny arrived within seven minutes of each other under the burled arch in Nome.

Hall arrived at 9:03 p.m. and Drobny finished at 9:09 p.m.

Hall finished in sixth place while Drobny finished seventh. Both positions are the best finishes for either musher.

Drobny and Hall finished within minutes of each other in the 2019 Yukon Quest.

At 6:37 p.m., Seward musher Travis Beals finished the 2019 Iditarod in fifth place, his best finish from five starts.

Update: 5:28 p.m.:

Iditarod veteran and fan favorite Aliy Zirkle arrived in Nome in fourth place at 5:26 p.m.

The Yukon Quest champion's fourth-place finish is her best Iditarod result since 2016. She arrived behind Pete Kaiser, Joar Leifseth Ulsom and Jessie Royer.

Earlier in the race,

for her mandatory 24-hour layover.

Dual-Yukon Quest champion Allen Moore, who is also Zirkle's husband, said the gamble didn't pay off. The couple reunited in Unalakleet alongside Doug Zirkle, Aliy's father.

Between 2012 and 2017, Zirkle made six top-ten finishes, including finishing second on three occasions. Zirkle finished outside the top-ten in 2018.

Update: 4:15 p.m.:

Iditarod race officials say the winner's purse will be at least $51,000, and may go up depending on if any other mushers scratch.

Each musher who completes the race will receive the customary $1,049 cash prize. The rest of the $500,000 pot is split among the top 20 finishers.

The exact amount of the winning purse will be determined by the total number of finishers.

Update: 9:35 a.m.:

Coming in at third place, Jessie Royer mushed under the burled arch in Nome at 9:34 a.m.

Update: 5:00 a.m.:

Musher Peter Kaiser is the new Iditarod champion, taking first place early Wednesday morning after running under the burled arch in Nome.

Kaiser arrived at 3:39 a.m., and is the first Yup'ik Iditarod champion. According to Iditarod officials, Kaiser had eight dogs in harness when he crossed the finish line to win the Iditarod XLVII title.

Kaiser came in 12 minutes ahead of defending champion Joar Leifseth Ulsom, who made a late surge, but ultimately took second place at 3:51 a.m.

Update: 1:00 a.m.:

Joar Leifseth Ulsom checked into and out of Safety, departing at 12:45 a.m. just three minutes after reaching the checkpoint.

Ulsom has eight dogs, and is running approximately 40 minutes behind Peter Kaiser.

Iditarod Insider GPS shows Ulsom traveling at 10.3 miles per hour, while Kaiser was last registered traveling at seven miles per hour at 12:57 a.m.

Original story:

Peter Kaiser reached Safety — the final checkpoint before Nome — at 12:03 a.m. Wednesday morning, and checked out again two minutes later at 12:05 a.m.

Kaiser arrived and left Safety with eight dogs.

Kaiser left White Mountain at 4:05 p.m. Tuesday after a mandatory eight hour layover.

Joar Leifseth Ulsom left 42 minutes later, also with eight dogs, at 4:47 p.m.

In third place, Jessie Royer left White Mountain at 8:46 p.m. Tuesday with 11 dogs.

Previous race leader Nic Petit scratched Monday after a

. He maintained a steady lead out of Shaktoolik before his dogs got into a fight, and then quit racing. This was the same stretch of trail that Petit lost his commanding lead on in 2018.

Follow the

on the Iditarod webpage.