State earthquake assistance deadline extended for 30 more days

Published: Jan. 28, 2019 at 10:43 AM AKST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

The State of Alaska has extended the time period for Alaskans to apply for Individual Disaster Assistance for damage from the Nov. 30 earthquake.

Gov. Mike Dunleavy extended the application period to end Feb. 28, 2019.

Residents of the Municipality of Anchorage, Mat-Su Borough and Kenai Peninsula Borough who suffered damage to their primary residence, personal property or transportation during the earthquake or aftershocks can apply.

You can apply online at

or call 1-855-445-7131 to apply.

The state says applicants will be asked to provide a description of damages, photos or videos, ownership documents for transportation and real property, and insurance information.

If President Donald Trump activates Federal Individual and Public Assistance programs, or if the Small Business Administration enacts disaster recovery loans, residents and business owners will have to go through a separate application process.